Senior in College Guidelines

Posted on

Dear readers,

As you probably can tell from my previous blog posts, I am a senior graduating May 2014. I attend the University of Louisville and receiving a Bachelors of Science degree in Communication. College has been the best experience for me. I have learned more than just what is in a text book or what I am tested on a exam. Yes, there are classes that challenge your comprehension, but also there are courses that inform you on what to expect when you enter the corporate world. As the fall semester comes to an end, I am starting to look for potential career paths. I have always kept graduate school as a top priority for after I finish my undergrad. However, I am very eager to start my career in the business world. Currently, I am interested in pursuing a career in advertising, academic advising, or marketing. 

In college, I have found these next few guidelines very helpful when beginning the “dream job” search:

  • Manage your online reputation across all social media platforms
  • Keep an updated resume and professional cover letter
  • Definitely make a thorough LinkedIn profile on all you have accomplished in college and experience
  • Stay updated on current issues and trends going on in society
  • Surrond yourself with motivated and success-driven people

I have found these few guidelines very helpful as graduation creeps up. Searching for a job after college is not as easy as it might seem to appear. Networking is CRITICAL. It is not all about what you know but more of who you know. Try to go out and network with new people and learn things you might not obtain in a higher education institution. Put yourself out there and experience different parts of the world. Always keep in mind, “what will set you apart from all the other people applying for the same position you are trying to obtain?” Stay positive and do not hold high expectations, and always keep your options open. Opportunities arise from all different areas, and always be open-minded. I hope you find some of my insights helpful because they have helped me so far in the graduation/job search process! Good luck to all who are in the graduating class of 2014! 

One thought on “Senior in College Guidelines

    greggoryamiller said:
    November 16, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    Diana, I have a couple of questions that I have to ask from discovering you today. Are you graduating in advertising? How has social media presence helped in your job search?

Leave a Reply

