Visualization and Infographics

Posted on

Good evening all! I want to highlight the importance of using visualization and infographics when trying to communicate a concept to your audience. The ability to write great content is one thing, but being able to compose attractive visuals is another. It is very important to be able to illustrate the message you are trying to convey to people. I have seen great graphics in Dr. Freberg’s presentations. I found this blog post very helpful while trying to figure out different ways one can create infographics and visualization for free: http://moz.com/blog/10-tools-for-creating-infographics-visualizations

The author really goes into detail with each site and tries to make it as user friendly as possible. I have absolutely no background in graphics so this was 100% beneficial to me. I feel that if you are going to try to pursue a career in the advertising/branding/pr world, you should know how to construct simple/unique infographics that you can also include in your portfolio. 

 

From my experience, I have always enjoyed having a visual present when learning a new concept or doing research on different matters. People notice images. Whether your images be big and bright or black/white. Your audience will be able to relate to your context if you can illustrate it creatively. 

Depending on the medium you are writing on… Your infographics/visualization will vary. Make sure you know who your target audience is and that will help you in the process of deciding how to illustrate the message. I find it most useful to use diagrams and graphs in newspapers, blogs, and powerpoints. While using less statistical images in magazines. No matter what medium, dry to make your data visual… Come to life! 

 

I came across this graphic online, it is a little hard to read all the fine print… However, this caught my eye and made me want to read the infographic… AKA.. SUCCESS (caught my attention) – I came across this graph:ic online, it is a little hard to read all the fine print… However, this caught my eye and made me want to read the infographic… AKA.. SUCCESS (caught my attention) 

[http://gpo.co/infographics-the-dos-and-donts-of-data-visualization/]

Image

Leave a Reply

